Jalapeño Pimiento Cheese a la Kuby’s Dallas

Uncategorized

IMG_0843

I am originally from the Dallas Fort Worth area but to be fair, I am actually from the suburbs in between with most time spent in Fort Worth. As a high school student I almost NEVER ventured to Dallas, save for the occasional concert, Mesquite rodeo, or one summer my best friend was hospitalized.

After my undergraduate, I moved back to DFW and started graduate school. I got a job working in downtown Dallas! Fancy! It was during my year and some change I worked in Dallas, I began to explore a bit. Mostly during my lunch hour and a few times after work I went about the town finding Lula B’s antique shop (LOVE), Sprinkles, Lockhart’s Smokehouse, and much more. Generally I would venture out with the few coworkers who I had befriended. Nina, (I hope you’re reading this!) a fellow foodie coworker, told me of a magical German sausage house and deli named Kuby’s. This place apparently had fantastic pimiento cheese so I sought it out.

DONE. GAME OVER. It was FANTASTIC. See, it wasn’t like the pimiento cheese I had before. Nooooo! It didn’t have any Velveeta, no sugar, and no Worchestershire! This was a jalapeño pimiento with Monterrey-Jack cheese and sharp cheddar cheese that wasn’t overly mayo-ed. It’s not your grandmother’s traditional pimiento cheese. Not that traditional pimiento cheese is bad either, but it changed things.

Now I live about an hour from Dallas (depending on traffic) which means less Kuby’s. This recipe is an attempt to recreate the Kuby’s spread, which I might add, The Dallas Morning News has rated as a top-pick in Dallas. See here.



Jalapeño Pimiento Cheese a la Kuby’s Dallas

Serves = a lot.

1- 16 ounce block sharp cheddar cheese

1- 16 ounce block of Monterrey Jack cheese

1 block of 1/3 fat cream cheese SOFTENED (use full fat cream cheese if you want)

2 jalapenos- deseeded and diced

5 tablespoons light mayonnaise (feel free to use full fat if that’s your fancy)

1- 4 ounce jar of pimentos

1/2 teaspoon garlic salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1 teaspoon onion powder

1. Cut both of your blocks of cheese into 4. Use your food processor* to shred the cheese.Once finished combine the shredded cheeses into one mixing bowl.

(TIP: cheese is easiest to shred when it is very cold, try to stick your cheese into the freezer about an hour before you begin and it will be easier to work with. I NEVER remember to and we all survive but this is me helping you!) *You can also shred the cheese by hand using a grater for an awesome arm workout.

2. On a cutting board, de-seed and dice your jalapeño. Drain your pimientos in their jar. Add both to your mixing bowl of shredded cheese. Add your garlic salt, pepper, and onion powder.

3. Add the light mayonnaise and HALF of the block of cream cheese to the bowl.

4. You can mix the ingredients by hand OR you may use the food processor to combine OR you may also use a hand mixer or stand mixer. Basically, it needs to be mixed and it doesn’t matter how so long as it is!

This is the point where you can add more mayo if you want it to be more like traditional spreadable pimiento. You can add more seasoning to taste. Usually. this is the point where I break out the crackers and snack. I like mine as a dip more than a sandwich spread. Refrigerate when finished. Enjoy!

IMG_0847

6 thoughts on “Jalapeño Pimiento Cheese a la Kuby’s Dallas

  1. I have bought Kuby’s Pimento Cheese Spread w/and w/o jalapenos for about 15 years now. I found Kuby’s when began working in the area. I started by bringing it to family celebrations, and gifted it to ‘Foodies’ ( those who had not had it) and — NOW– it is requested by all !! There is something within the ingredients that makes it VERY different!! Thank you for your contribution to the cause for all of us, who love Kuby’s!!
    — Question — What is the amount of pimento that is used for the recipe? (size of jar, weight or measured amount) Thank you so much!

    Like

    1. Hi Kendra! Thanks for your comment. I’m glad to hear from another Kubys fan!! I used a 4 ounce jar of pimentos from Cento brand. I will alter my recipe to say that!

      Like

Leave a comment